Please Wait...


Loading
MaximizeSearchHeader ImageDeutschHTTPS

Reviews

Atom Feed

AllErica SchoenefeldRuben Schönefeld

Poster

RBG

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-03-12

The perfect movie to watch for International Women's Day on March 8, and Women's History Month in March is this documentary about Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and the story of how she got there through her hard work as a lawyer and later federal judge. One of the best documentaries I've seen this year and definitely something I will suggest to everybody I know.

Poster

Osama

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-03-04

Set in Taliban Afghanistan in the buildup to the American bombings and invasion, this movie is centered around a teenage girl who has to disguise herself as a boy to have a chance to support her family. The story is similar to the later animated movie "The Breadwinner" and just as heartbreaking and sad.

Poster

You Can Count on Me

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-03-04

Not many things are explained on the outset, but it's fairly easy to understand once you start watching. The scenery in which this movie is set is in beautiful, small town America. The characters are very believable and every one of them has their character flaws that they portray perfectly.

Poster

The Machinist

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-03-01

First of all, it is so difficult to watch Christian Bale who must have lost so much weight that he's almost unrecognizable. Because of his insomnia, Trevor Reznik starts hallucinating and causing accidents that nearly cost one of his coworkers their life. Toward the end of the movie, it's revealed what might be the cause of his insomnia. It's a smart story with a couple of surprises and definitely kept my attention.

Poster

After Porn Ends

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-28

Porn, which may (or may not) look glamorous on screen often times involves performers with a very difficult past, and who, after their time in the industry, also face a difficult future. This documentary shows some of the actors and actresses in their new life and the difficulties they face.

Poster

The Green Book: Guide to Freedom

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-28

With the Oscar nominated movie "Green Book" out, this very timely documentary talks about the real Green Book that was the basis of the feature movie's title. Interviews with contemporary witnesses and their children provide the perfect introduction into the difficult past that by no means only affected the Southern United States.

Poster

Blackfield: NYC - Live in New York City

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-28

An awesome performance of Blackfield's first two albums in front of a pretty intimate audience in New York City. Works very well as a concert recording because the way it's filmed and recorded feels almost like being there, minus the ringing ears later.

Poster

Chasing Amy

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-27

Compared to the smart dialogues and simplicity of the sets we get with "Clerks", this Kevin Smith movie has a bit of a different, more mainstream, feeling. It also feels a bit strange that Holden thinks he can, or needs to, win over Alyssa who tells him in no uncertain terms that she's lesbian. That may however just be because it's already over twenty years old. Compared to other romantic comedies of roughly this time, it holds up pretty well though because it's not as straight (pun somewhat intended) forward as most.

Poster

Devil's Knot

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-21

After watching all the documentaries out there about the West Memphis Three and the case I just wanted to be complete the series by watching this dramatization. In my view, if you really want to learn about what happened and how the three teenagers were mistreated by the police, by their community and the court system, go for the Paradise Lost documentaries. If you don't like documentaries or watching three of them is too much of a time investment, then this movie is alright, but it leaves out too much, simply because it can't be fit into a movie of less than two hours.

Poster

The Breadwinner

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-20

An animated movie, so it must be perfect for little kids to watch, right? Wrong! Unless your little kids are interested in politics, war, religion, death and destruction. This movie is set in 2001 Afghanistan at the brink of the US bombings. The turmoil is just in addition to the trouble the girl Parvana and her family are already facing in Taliban controlled Kabul. It's not entirely clear at the end if it's a happy ending at least for her little family or not and I wish I knew.

Poster

The Butterfly Effect

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-19

It does take a moment to figure out why the movie is called "The Butterfly Effect" but once Evan figures out how to not only re-discover the memories he thought he'd lost during his black-outs, but also how to change the timeline, it will make perfect sense. At a couple of points during the movie I thought to myself how great Ashton Kutcher is doing and how believable his performance is in this role that is a lot different than anything I've ever seen him in before. I'm not sure why it took me such a long time to see this movie.

Poster

Incredibles 2

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-18

Having enjoyed the first Incredibles movie, I was looking forward to the second one. In my view, it's just as good as the, by the time of the release of this movie, 14 year old original Incredibles movie. Being animated, it wasn't an issue to make this a seamless continuation. Baby Jack-Jack takes more of a stage as his family figures out what he's capable of and this provides for some laugh-out-loud moments.

Poster

The Little Prince

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-18

A cute little story based on Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's story of "The Little Prince". A little girl and her mother move into a new neighborhood to be in the school district she has picked out for the little girl. In between all her reglemented chores and studying, she befriends her neighbor, the aviator, who tells her stories of the Little Prince that he met a long time ago. When the aviator has to go to hospital, the little girl goes to find the Little Prince.

Poster

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-15

It's been a very long time since I've seen this movie and I only remembered bits and pieces of it, so it was quite nice to watch it again. I think the story is quite original, with both parties of a relationship only in it because of a bet but in the end, falling in love for real. It's a good movie to watch just for fun entertainment.

Poster

Tiptoes

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-02-14

What a weird story. A future husband that tries to hide the fact that his family suffers from dwarfism. Gary Oldman is one of the dwarfs, which I found a bit surprising because they surely could have found a couple more little people to play his role. Peter Dinklage is Gary Oldman's character's French friend, sporting a really weird accent for no good reason, meaning him being French made absolutely no difference. Kate Beckinsale's character's baby had a doll "stand-in" that is pulled out of its crip and held in such weird ways that it's obvious that the director must at some point just given up to even try to make things look good.

Next Page


This product uses the TMDb API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDb.