Please Wait...


Loading
MaximizeSearchHeader ImageDeutschHTTPS

Reviews

Atom Feed

AllErica SchoenefeldRuben Schönefeld

Poster

Hot Millions

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-10

Still one of the best movie about hacking. When a movie covers topics like computer security and social engineering for the purpose of embezzling large amounts of money from a company just to find out that in the end, some insider stock trading netted an even bigger profit, it's surprising to realize that this all came out in 1968. On top of the story, this movie deserves the full complement of ten stars for the brilliant performance of Peter Ustinov, Maggie Smith, Karl Malden and Bob Newhart.

Poster

Pulp Fiction

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-07

Story lines that initially don't seem to have much to do with one another, but eventually all make sense together are one of the specialties of Quentin Tarantino and this movie from his earlier career is a perfect example of it. Which character is even the main character in this movie? Or does every movie or story in general have to have one?

Poster

Beatriz at Dinner

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-04

A movie that looks and feels like it's been made for a theatre stage instead. There is a lot of dialogue and with the heavy accent of Salma Hayek makes it so you have to pay close attention to what's going on. Her counterpart is John Lithgow who does such a perfect job to play the abhorrent millionaire Doug.

Poster

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-03

Six stories written and directed by the Coen brothers that share no more than a common era. Each one of them is smart and beautifully filmed and as a fan of Tom Waits, I was looking forward to his part the most. Whenever there is dialogue, it's smart, funny and usually fast. Despite the run time of 133 minutes, the movie does not feel very long because each one of the episodes is short enough and will keep your attention.

Poster

Kill Bill: Vol. 2

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-03

The second of two movies in this series by Quentin Tarantino sees the conclusion of Beatrix Kiddo's tour of revenge between Asia and America.

Poster

Kill Bill: Vol. 1

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2019-01-03

The first in a series of two movies by Quentin Tarantino sets up nicely what drives Beatrix Kiddo to seek revenge. There's a lot happening so it makes sense that it had to be split into two movies.

Poster

Traumschiff Surprise - Periode 1

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-31

A spoof of Star Trek, Star Wars and The Fifth Element all rolled into one movie by the German comedy group around Michael "Bully" Herbig. Compared to the movie "Manitou's Shoe" a couple of years earlier, I feel like this one falls a bit flat.

Poster

We Own the Night

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-31

The movie is quite entertaining and exciting but at times, some of the plot lines are a bit too unbelievable. I like that the movie makers picked actual Russian (or other former Soviet bloc countries) to play the Russian roles in this movie.

Poster

Changeling

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-28

A very serious role for Angelina Jolie and she did really well. After reading up on the real story after watching the movie, I wish they stuck a bit more closely to how it really must have happened instead of taking some shortcuts, but in order to fit it all into a movie that still clocks in at about 2 hours and 20 minutes, I can understand why they did it.

Poster

A Beautiful Mind

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-26

The true story about mathematician John Nash and his struggles with mental illness. It's movies like this that make me look further into the lives of the people that are the subject and this movie is no exception. In the movie, it's not revealed too quickly that John Nash suffered from schizophrenia, instead showing how his life unfolded out of his eyes, and I liked this approach. I'm not so sure why I waited this long to watch the movie and can highly recommend it.

Poster

Into the Wild

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-26

The true story about Christopher McCandless, who ran off to live in the wild and off the land after finishing college. The movie is beautifully filmed but I kept getting pulled away from the beauty of the scenery by the wanting to yell at the screen for Chris, or Alex as he calls himself, to get back to civilization because his health and (mental) fitness was getting worse and worse. I knew how this was going to end ahead of time, but it's sad seeing this all play out on the screen.

Poster

Antibodies

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-21

"Who did you expect, Hannibal Lecter?", says the evil serial killer in this German movie from 2005, but this movie doesn't have to hide behind a masterpiece like "Silence of the Lambs" with a very smart story that takes some twists and just when you thought you had it figured out, it's turns out to be just a bit different than expected. I really enjoyed the story and the effort that went into it.

Poster

The Ant Bully

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-20

A bullied boy that becomes the bully and is resized through some magic ant potion dripped into his ear. It's alright entertainment, but probably not something that I'd keep on my list to watch again later. Some animated movies are also fun for adults but as far as I can judge, this is for the most part going to be interesting for the younger ones.

Poster

Amy

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-19

Through interviews and original footage, this documentary shows the struggles family and friends had to get the best out of Amy Winehouse. She wasn't prepared for the fame and fortune her great singing ability got her into. Knowing the outcome of her struggles ahead of time, it is especially sad to see how Amy and her everybody around her reacts to the alcoholism, drugs and eating disorder that she had to deal with.

Poster

The Lake House

Reviewer: Ruben Schönefeld
Date: 2018-12-18

I heard some mixed messages about this movie. Whenever time travel, or in this case, the travel of messages through time is involved, things can get a bit weird, especially when it comes to changing the outcome of events, but it's all for a good cause in this movie to preserve, or rather, produce the happy ending. Sandra Bullock is almost always great in what she's in, and this is another example of that.

Next Page


This product uses the TMDb API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDb.